Kate Sheppard Cup Final -match preview

History of the Cup

The Women’s knockout cup is the equivalent of the mens Chatham Cup and on 8 March 2018, coinciding with International Women’s Day and in celebration of the 125th anniversary of the women’s suffrage movement, which was led by Kate Sheppard who helped women earn the right to vote in New Zealand. The cup was renamed as the Kate Sheppard Cup.

The cup dates back to 1994 and Lynn-Avon United have won it 9 times, Glenfield Rovers, and Kings United have both won it 4 times.

As a club Coastal Spirit first won the Kate Sheppard Cup back in 2013 against Glenfield Rovers 1-0 at English Park. Previously, Coastal had been finalists against the same team in 2011 but went down 3-0 that day.

Finals Experience

A number of Coastal players have finals experience including some who were there in 2013 to lift the cup.

Captain Chloe Jones, Mel Cameron, Whitney Hepburn, Una Foyle, Bel van Noorden were all part of that cup winning squad and that should go along way in such a big game.

That game in 2013 was a hard slog played in front of a big crowd at English Park. Not a lot separated the two teams but Coastal came out on top.

The team has had a successful WPL (Womens Premier League) season winning the title over close rivals Cashmere Technical.

Road to the Final

*Graphic below via NZ Football

Game Details

Coastal Spirit FC vs Eastern Suburbs AFC

Sunday 8th September – North Harbour Stadium 12pm Kick Off

North Harbour Stadium 12pm

Game will be on Sky Sport – read more here